h+ Magazine

Welcome To Mixed Reality

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Peter

Reality just became “mixed” , a little bit more strange, and possibly a whole lot more interesting.

[See the full post at: Welcome To Mixed Reality]

Peter
    marqueso
    Participant

Hello, I am an architecture student currently researching for my thesis. I am interested in the “architectural” implications of such technology. How do you see it changing the way we build/interact/maintain structures. I am interested in ways beyond just using augmented reality to change light bulbs or to put columns in the right location.

Could augmented/virtual reality could use the democratization of the digital world to influence the real world? Are architects obsolete in a digital realm?

Marquez
    quezmar411@gmail.com

Peter

I don’t think augmented reality or virtual reality technologies will make architects obsolete. What we do see is an increasing merger of the real physical world and the digital realm. So architects not only design buildings with digital tools but also have to consider the role of digital information systems in the built environment.

In the future when you design a space, you will design both its physical parameters, the actual building, and its virtual parameters; the augmented reality world it contains and which will provide many of its primary functions.

Consider the augmented reality home doesn’t need light switches,or any control interfaces of this sort since these can all be virtual augmented reality displays.

Of course the appearance of a space or structure could become primarily virtual. In this case the built environment might become little more than a series of blank white regions on which to project the virtual world, and interiors would consist of functional but “blank” spaces.